Silver Medal Awards


Silver-medal_PoloroidThe American Advertising Federation’s Silver Medal Award Program was established in 1959 to recognize men and women who have made outstanding contributions to advertising and who have been active in furthering the industry’s standards, creative excellence and responsibility in areas of social concern. Annually, AAF member clubs bestow this honor upon outstanding members of the local advertising community.


Past winners have managed radio stations, corporate and retail ad departments. They have been publishers of magazines and newspapers. They have been agency owners, creative directors, copywriters, media buyers or account executives. Other winners have owned market research firms, recording studios and video production companies. Media sales reps, freelancers and printers also are among previous honorees.


Submit Nomination Form


Past Silver Medal Award Winners


2015 Dawn Reeves 2014 Bo Stanford 2013 Spencer Till
2012 Jerry Brown 2011 John Montgomery 2010 Joe O’Donnell
2009 Michael Murphy 2008 Dr. Shelley Stewart 2007 Linda Rountree
2006 Ron Council 2005 Keith Williams 2004 Rod Clark
2003 Jerdan Bullard 2002 Ann Halpern 2001 William M. Harvill
2000 Theresa Harper Bruno 1999 Robert Luckie, III 1998 Judy Fraser
1997 Jimmy Townsend 1996 Wanda McKoy 1995 Leo Wright
1994 Liz Bishop 1993 John Forney 1992 Mike Strong
1991 Terry Slaughter 1990 Phil Sankey 1989 Jess Bullock
1988 Joan Perry 1987 Leo Tichelli 1986 Wayne Gillis
1985 Lu Cruce 1984 Harry Bressler 1983 Frank Lee
1982 Arthur P. Baxter 1981 Arthur E. Curl, Jr. 1980 Roy Hickman
1979 Cal & Dorothy Roden 1978 Ross Luckett 1977 Don Dunham
1976 Ed Boutwell 1975 Jack Hail 1974 Richard Peacock
1973 William “Bill” Rogers 1972 Billy Martin 1971 Harry Hoile
1970 Emory Cunningham 1969 Frank Taylor 1968 Vincent Townsend, Sr.
1967 William Spoor 1966 Arthur Cook 1965 Otis Dodge
1964 Paoli Smith 1963 Bob Luckie, Jr. 1962 Clarence Killian
1961 Ben McKinnon 1960 Forbes McKay